Category: Uncategorized

Drug and Alcohol Commission Accepting Scholarship Applications

The Armstrong-Indiana-Clarion Drug & Alcohol Commission is pleased to announce the request for application for the 2017 Bernie Smith Memorial Scholarship.

Armstrong, Indiana, and Clarion County students in the 2017 graduating class who exemplify the mission of the Armstrong-Indiana-Clarion Drug & Alcohol Commission by their way of involvement, leadership, and accomplishments in their high school careers are applicable.

This scholarship provides one high school senior in each county with a single award of $1,000 towards post-secondary education.

All submissions must be postmarked by March 15 for consideration.

This past June, West Shamokin graduate Alivia Peters – the 2015-16 SADD President – accepted the $1,000 scholarship, with plans to attend Butler County Community College, and in 2015, Ford City Junior-Senior High graduate Kaitlyn Satterfield was the Armstrong County scholarship recipient during a dinner at Lenape Heights Golf Course. Satterfield -of Manor Township – studied Occupational Therapy at University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg (Westmoreland County) before she will transfer to the University of Pittsburgh main campus.

Bernie Smith served as an Indiana County Commissioner from 1995 to 2006 before dying in office, and was a member of the Armstrong-Indiana Drug and Alcohol Commission Board.

2017-18 House Leadership Team includes Regional Officials

Formal elections for the Pennsylvania House Republican Caucus will be held today in Harrisburg, but State representatives already have chosen for a pair of regional leaders to retain their seats.

During a reorganization session in November, Rep. Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny County) was elected as speaker of the House of Representatives with Rep. Dave Reed (R-Indiana County) as majority leader during the 2017-18 legislative session.

“To be chosen by my colleagues to continue to serve as speaker of this esteemed institution is an exceptionally high honor,” Turzai said in a statement. “I am proud of our members and the outstanding accomplishments we have achieved together over the past two years.

“I look forward to working with all members to move Pennsylvania forward in the next session. Focusing on fiscal discipline and private sector job growth will be paramount.”

Local voters will also recognize and may have voted for the caucus secretary – Rep. Donna Oberlander –, who represents areas of Armstrong County such as Elderton, Rural Valley, Dayton and Templeton, as well as Clarion and Forest counties.) This will be Representative Oberlander’s second term as caucus secretary.

“It is such an hour to be re-elected to this post for the new legislative session,” Oberlander said. “Throughout my first term as caucus secretary, I was a key part of the overall House Republican leadership team, where we worked hard and were successful at fighting off the governor’s massive tax increases while also ensuring additional investments for education.”

Previously, Representative Oberlander chaired the House Oil and Gas Caucus and the House Diabetes Caucus.

Republicans will hold a 122-81 majority in the state House.