Public Meeting to Decide Final Election Polling Places

Under revisions of polling places in Ford City, Ford Memorial United Methodist Church will serve 2nd Ward voters.

A public meeting will provide final comment concerning election house changes in various municipalities in Armstrong County.

The meeting is scheduled for Friday, August 30 at 11:30 AM in Courtroom 1 at the Armstrong County Court House in Kittanning.

A consolidation study was done by the Armstrong County Voter’s Registration office.

Armstrong County Director of Elections Jennifer Bellas in October 2018 requested that Ford City Council consider doing away with two precincts in each of Ford City’s north and south district. Bellas said that not only is it financially prudent to make changes, it is also difficult to get poll workers. Changing to a north and south only would be a cost savings because there would not need to be the amount of poll workers currently required.

“We have 68 total election precincts,” Bellas said. “We would like to reduce those to 62.”

Ford City has four election precincts that include two precincts (north and south) in each of two wards.
The Borough was split into two wards in 1952 by resolution. Each ward was split into north and south in 1959 by court order. That occurred because its population at that time necessitated the split into four polling places.
Under the new plan, Ford City residents of the 1st Ward would vote at the New Life Center on 9th Street. The 2nd Ward would vote at Ford Memorial United Methodist Church.

Other polling places for planned consolidation include combining Cowanshannock, Sagamore, and Cowanshannock East. Consolidation would combine Freeport 1 and 2. Parks Township, North Vandergrift and Kepple Hill would also be combined.

Any voter wishing to file an objection to consolidations may do so before August 30 through the Clerk of Courts.