Drug and Alcohol Commission Accepting Scholarship Applications

The Armstrong-Indiana-Clarion Drug & Alcohol Commission is pleased to announce the request for application for the 2017 Bernie Smith Memorial Scholarship.

Armstrong, Indiana, and Clarion County students in the 2017 graduating class who exemplify the mission of the Armstrong-Indiana-Clarion Drug & Alcohol Commission by their way of involvement, leadership, and accomplishments in their high school careers are applicable.

This scholarship provides one high school senior in each county with a single award of $1,000 towards post-secondary education.

All submissions must be postmarked by March 15 for consideration.

This past June, West Shamokin graduate Alivia Peters – the 2015-16 SADD President – accepted the $1,000 scholarship, with plans to attend Butler County Community College, and in 2015, Ford City Junior-Senior High graduate Kaitlyn Satterfield was the Armstrong County scholarship recipient during a dinner at Lenape Heights Golf Course. Satterfield -of Manor Township – studied Occupational Therapy at University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg (Westmoreland County) before she will transfer to the University of Pittsburgh main campus.

Bernie Smith served as an Indiana County Commissioner from 1995 to 2006 before dying in office, and was a member of the Armstrong-Indiana Drug and Alcohol Commission Board.