Armstrong County Unofficial Election Results

County maintenance personnel unload voting supplies at the maintenance facility while election returns were turned in by election officials from each municipality. According to Deputy Sheriff Terry Bish, the first return came in at 8:26PM from Kittanning Borough – 2nd Ward, followed up shortly by Kittanning Borough – 4th Ward.

by Jonathan Weaver

The next U.S. Senator could be from Armstrong County based on last night’s election results.

In the national Senatorial race, Republican Tom Smith of Shelocta garnered more than 81 percent of the vote in Armstrong County, almost the same percentage in Indiana County and nearly 40 percent of the vote statewide to become the Republican candidate on the General Election ballot this November. He defeated three challengers from the eastern portion of Pennsylvania: David Christian of Bucks County, Marc Scaringi of Cumberland County and Steven Welch of Chester County.

Smith will challenge Democratic incumbent Bob Casey, Jr. – who had a challenge of his own against Joseph Vodvarka of Allegheny County Tuesday. However, Casey received nearly 75 percent of the left-wing party’s votes locally and 80 percent statewide to represent the Democratic vote this November.

County voters also chose Mitt Romney to contest incumbent Barack Obama in this November’s Presidential race. Romney also reportedly won the popular Republican vote in the states of Delaware, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New York to boost his candidacy nationwide.

Voting materials had to be packed up from the County’s 68 voting districts at the close of last night’s Primary Election by county workers in the County’s maintenance garage.

Obama was uncontested on the Democratic ballot.

Locally, of the nearly 5,000 votes cast for State Senator, nearly all were for unopposed incumbent Don White. However, there were a reported-29 write-in votes against him.

Sixty-five write-in votes were also cast against Representative Jeff Pyle in the 60th Legislative District, but Pyle was unopposed on the Republican ballot and will be on the November General Election ballot. Democrat Jo Ellen Bowman of Kiski Township will oppose him then after winning the Democratic nod.

Rep. Eli Evankovich (R-54), Rep. Donna Oberlander (R-63) and Mike Kelly of Butler, representing the 3rd Congressional District also ran unopposed in their respective party, though Kelly will be opposed in November by Missa Eaton of Sharon who won the Democratic Congressional nomination.

The General Election is scheduled for November 6.